Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

“Fan”tastical Friday: Helen Keller June 17, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 3:49 pm

I’ve long been a fan of Helen Keller’s too. Her story is inspiring, and her own writings so thoughtful and kind, despite the harshness with which she had been treated at times. Amazing woman.

A writer & her adolescent muse

I’ve never really gave much notice to the term “fandom” until I looked up the meaning of the word in a dictionary:

-“the state or condition of being a fan of someone or something.”

This definition made me chuckle as it sounds like something out of a psychology textbook.  So, I looked at what Wikipedia had to say:

-“a term used to refer to a subculture composed of fans characterized by a feeling of empathy and camaraderie with others who share a common interest.”

Meaning, you can be a “fan” of not just individuals or movies or a particular kind of music; but, also of an ideal, an interest, motive, etc..  I think you get the idea.

I suppose now that I’m thinking (oh, so dangerous) I am a fan of multiple things.

For today, I will focus on one of them.

Women with great inner…

View original post 149 more words

 

Leave a Reply

