Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

Some thoughts about immersion and book abandonment… August 12, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 4:52 pm

I guess I’m still an optimist and keep hoping it will get better. But I have abandoned more books lately than I used to. My other issue is that a fair amount of my reading is for book clubs or promised reviews . . . so I kind of *have* to finish. Still, good thoughts. It’s supposed to be fun, not torture, after all.

Shannon Turlington

In lieu of a reading recommendation this week, I offer some unfocused thoughts about book abandonment. Many readers seem to think that it is a virtue to finish every book they start, even if they aren’t enjoying it. I used to think so myself, but as I have gotten older and more aware that time is getting shorter, I’m less willing to spend that time on a book that’s not doing it for me. I know my reading speed by now, I know how long it takes me to finish the average book, and I value those hours highly.

I highly advocate giving up on books–especially fiction–that aren’t doing it for you. It may be a case of the wrong book at the wrong time or for the wrong reader. I abandoned two books just this week, one in which I gotten about halfway and one in which I was…

View original post 268 more words

 

3 Responses to “Some thoughts about immersion and book abandonment…”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I’m making a new rule for our book club–you don’t have to finish.


Leave a Reply

