Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

Thoughts from the Train (and the Magic of Books) March 9, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 4:45 pm

I’ve wondered what people who don’t read do when they are waiting. How sad not to be able to lose yourself in a story.

Kate M. Colby

people-new-york-train-crowdSince moving to New Haven, I have become one of the faceless masses on the public transport system. For those of you who have only ever commuted by car (or vice versa), let me describe the differences to you (at least, for introverted me).

In the Car

I come from a long line of mechanics, racers, and car enthusiasts. As much as I love to say I’m helping the environment by taking the train, the truth is: I’m saving the mileage on my 16-year-old baby. (But two birds, right?)

In the car, it’s you and the machine versus the other anonymous automobiles. While you have to jostle for position on the interstate, you get to enjoy your isolated, little bubble, filled with your music or audiobooks, or delicious silence. No one sits next to you uninvited. No one’s obnoxious phone conversations intrude. No strange bodily odors invade (and if they…

View original post 669 more words

 

Leave a Reply

