Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

Writing Faster with a little help from an IWSG friend March 2, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 10:49 pm

I’m always looking for ways to increase my productivity during the time I’ve got. I’ll have to check this one out. Also look! Elizabeth is giving away her book. I’ve read it, and it’s wonderful. Mystery, friendship, and vengeance all under a perfect sunhat 🙂

Elizabeth Hein - Scribbling In The Storage Room

Back in January, I posted my goals for 2016, one of which is to write faster. I want to be able to get to the point where I am publishing at least one book a year. Stephanie Scott,  another Insecure Writer, suggested I look at Rachel Aaron’s 2,000 to 10,000: Writing Faster, Writing Better, and Writing More of What You Love. It was the right advice given at the right time. 

2K to 10K is a short book. You could read it in one long sitting but I would recommend reading the first section on how to get more words written in less time, then coming back to the section on editing after you have a completed draft. Rachel Aaron’s methods are not gimmicky or magic bullets that will solve your lack of productive results. She is an advocate of meticulous planning and explains her methods in a clear, well-reasoned…

View original post 445 more words

 

Leave a Reply

