Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

Guest Post: Meanwhile, In The Serengeti by Barbara Ann Wright June 20, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 2:42 pm

Sounds like a great read!

No Wasted Ink

WildebeestStraight people are my wildebeests. I watch them from the grass, waiting. One little noise will send them into a stampede, hooves kicking the dirt into a cloud, making them harder to catch.

I creep forward, silent, downwind from them. I must catch them off guard. I take a deep breath, stand up, let them have a good look at me, and say, “I write fantasy novels about lesbians.”

Okay, maybe it’s not exactly like that, but pitching a novel starring LGBT characters to a straight audience has its pitfalls, but if I want the widest readership possible for my work, it’s something I have to do.

I love all my fans. From the LGBT crowd to the pansexuals and asexuals, those who are intersex, and those who eschew labels. And there are straight people who seek out diverse books. I love them, too. I usually don’t have to sell…

View original post 617 more words

 

Leave a Reply

