Mirymom's Blog

Dangerous When Bored

Unintentionally offensive May 12, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — mirymom @ 3:27 pm

A good reminder that you can’t fully know another person’s story from what you see on the surface. Thanks to Dave Higgins for bringing this one to my attention.

Fangs and Lasers

Yesterday at work a customer made an off hand remark about getting something free. Lots of people do this, nifty percent of the time they are teasing. We laugh, I say sorry can’t do that, and we go on our ways.

But yesterday was a bit different. We laughed, then he said “I’m just kidding. I work for what I have. I’m a conservitive, not a liberal. I don’t expect anyone to just give me anything.”

I was a little offended. First time in a really long time that I’ve ever been offended. I don’t necessarily consider myself a liberal, but I have been on public assistance before. Even now I have free medical from the state because I can’t afford health care. And this is what this person thinks of me? That I just want free hand outs instead of working for myself?

I laughed it off and let…

View original post 890 more words

 

Leave a Reply

